News Categories Software News



Read our roundup of the latest news for the week ending July 15, 2018

Weekly News Roundup (July 15, 2018)

Posted by: Sean F, 21:13 AEST, Sun July 15, 2018

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending July 15, 2018 ... More


Voksi cracks most recent and "most bloated" Denuvo version

Latest Denuvo Protection for 'Injustice 2' Cracked

Posted by: Sean F, 14:52 AEST, Fri July 13, 2018

Prolific game cracker Voksi is at it again, cracking the latest "most bloated" version of Denuvo ... More


Read our roundup of the latest news for the week ending July 8, 2018

Weekly News Roundup (July 8, 2018)

Posted by: Sean F, 16:00 AEST, Sun July 8, 2018

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending July 8, 2018 ... More



News Icon Report: Google Working on Its Own Gaming Platform, Codenamed Yeti

posted by: Sean F, 11:48 AEST, Thu July 5, 2018

Google is testing the waters to see if developers might support a new streaming based gaming platform

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (July 1, 2018)

posted by: Sean F, 21:51 AEST, Sun July 1, 2018

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending July 1, 2018

News Icon Nintendo Implements Anti-Piracy Kill 'Switch', While Switch Piracy Can Brick Console

posted by: Sean F, 17:05 AEST, Sat June 30, 2018

Nintend and pirates go to battle, while piracy code may contain a nasty surprise

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (June 17, 2018)

posted by: Sean F, 17:15 AEST, Sun June 17, 2018

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending June 17, 2018

News Icon Latest Ultra HD Blu-ray Copy Protection Cracked

posted by: Sean F, 17:57 AEST, Sat June 16, 2018

AACS 2.1, which came with the 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray version of the movie 'Fury', appears to have been cracked only a month after the disc's release

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (June 10, 2018)

posted by: Sean F, 20:57 AEST, Sun June 10, 2018

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending June 10, 2018

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (May 27, 2018)

posted by: Sean F, 20:44 AEST, Sun May 27, 2018

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending May 27, 2018

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (May 20, 2018)

posted by: Sean F, 21:08 AEST, Sun May 20, 2018

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending May 20, 2018

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (April 8, 2018)

posted by: Sean F, 18:44 AEST, Sun April 8, 2018

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending April 8, 2018

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (April 1, 2018)

posted by: Sean F, 20:18 AEST, Sun April 1, 2018

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending April 1, 2018

News Icon Spotify Takes Action Against 'Pirate' Users

posted by: Sean F, 15:12 AEST, Sun April 1, 2018

Spotify identifies two millions users using hacked version of its app to unlock premium features for free

News Icon Google Removes 'Kodi' from Autocomplete Due to Perceived Piracy Links

posted by: Sean F, 14:48 AEDT, Fri March 30, 2018

Google starts filtering the term 'Kodi' from autocomplete

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (March 25, 2018)

posted by: Sean F, 15:01 AEDT, Mon March 26, 2018

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending March 25, 2018

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (March 11, 2018)

posted by: Sean F, 14:41 AEDT, Sun March 11, 2018

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending March 11, 2018

News Icon Blu-ray, Ultra HD Blu-ray sales stats for the week ending February 24, 2018

posted by: Sean F, 15:23 AEDT, Thu March 8, 2018

DVD, Blu-ray and Ultra HD Blu-ray sales stats for the week ending February 24, 2018

News Icon Spotify's Piracy Links Revealed: Company Used to Own uTorrent

posted by: Sean F, 15:53 AEDT, Wed March 7, 2018

Spotify does battle with uTorrent these days, but one used to own the other

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (February 25, 2018)

posted by: Sean F, 18:33 AEDT, Sun February 25, 2018

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending February 25, 2018

News Icon Google Removes 'View Image' and 'Search by Image' Functions Due to Piracy Concerns

posted by: Sean F, 15:34 AEDT, Tue February 20, 2018

Google forced to remove useful links in image search due to copyright complaint by Getty Images

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (February 18, 2018)

posted by: Sean F, 20:55 AEDT, Sun February 18, 2018

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending February 18, 2018

News Icon Major VLC Updates Adds Chromecast, HDR, 360 Video Support

posted by: Sean F, 18:05 AEDT, Sat February 17, 2018

A new version of VLC adds Chromecast support in beta form

News Icon Blu-ray, Ultra HD Blu-ray sales stats for the week ending February 3, 2018

posted by: Sean F, 18:45 AEDT, Thu February 15, 2018

DVD, Blu-ray and Ultra HD Blu-ray sales stats for the week ending February 3, 2018

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (February 11, 2018)

posted by: Sean F, 16:57 AEDT, Sun February 11, 2018

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending February 11, 2018

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (February 4, 2018)

posted by: Sean F, 16:11 AEDT, Sun February 4, 2018

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending February 4, 2018

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (January 28, 2018)

posted by: Sean F, 12:27 AEDT, Mon January 29, 2018

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending January 28, 2018

News Icon Latest Version of Denuvo Used by 'Sonic Forces' Bypassed

posted by: Sean F, 11:47 AEDT, Sun January 28, 2018

Denuvo's latest efforts foiled again by crackers

News Icon Blockchain Technology Could Render DRM Obsolete

posted by: Sean F, 21:09 AEDT, Wed January 24, 2018

Blockchain technology could be used as an alternative to DRM, that would enable digital game resale, but could also draw the ire of game publishers

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (January 14, 2018)

posted by: Sean F, 17:52 AEDT, Sun January 14, 2018

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending January 14, 2018

News Icon Apple Joins Alliance for Open Media to Help Push AV1 Adoption

posted by: Sean F, 15:01 AEDT, Thu January 11, 2018

Apple joins Amazon, Google and Microsoft to help push next-gen video codec that has its heart on replacing HEVC

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (January 7, 2018)

posted by: Sean F, 17:15 AEDT, Sun January 7, 2018

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending January 7, 2018

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (December 10, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 15:52 AEDT, Sun December 10, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending December 10, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (December 3, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 00:08 AEDT, Mon December 4, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending December 3, 2017

News Icon Firefox Adds AV1 Support, Codec to Challenge HEVC in Efficiency Stakes

posted by: Sean F, 17:25 AEDT, Fri December 1, 2017

New codec aims to replace super efficient HEVC

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (November 26, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 01:32 AEDT, Mon November 27, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending November 26, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (November 12, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 23:09 AEDT, Sun November 12, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending November 12, 2017

News Icon MPAA Claims 70% of Kodi Users Are Pirates

posted by: Sean F, 19:58 AEDT, Sat November 11, 2017

Kodi under renewed attack from the MPAA over piracy links

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (November 5, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 16:55 AEDT, Sun November 5, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending November 5, 2017

News Icon Video Codec Wins Primetime Engineering Emmy

posted by: Sean F, 16:07 AEDT, Sun October 29, 2017

HEVC given ward for its contribution to the television industry

News Icon Portugal Paves Way for Fairer DRM Laws

posted by: Sean F, 13:35 AEDT, Sat October 28, 2017

Portugal adopts new copyright laws that makes DRM ripping legal in many cases

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (October 22, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 20:10 AEDT, Sun October 22, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending October 22, 2017

News Icon Netflix, Amazon Join Forces with the MPAA to Sue Kodi Box Maker

posted by: Sean F, 15:55 AEDT, Sun October 22, 2017

Streaming giants join forces with Hollywood to tackle the Kodi box problem

News Icon Bitcoin Technology to Drive Next-Gen Digital Video Sales

posted by: Sean F, 19:51 AEDT, Sat October 21, 2017

New project aims to redefine how video distribution happens using the technology that drives Bitcoins

News Icon More Denuvo Protected Games Broken Within 24 Hours

posted by: Sean F, 15:29 AEDT, Sat October 21, 2017

Denuvo faces more setbacks, as more games are cracked in record time

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (October 8, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 13:13 AEDT, Sun October 8, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending October 8, 2017

News Icon Denuvo Protected Game Cracked in A Matter of Hours

posted by: Sean F, 15:31 AEDT, Sat October 7, 2017

The effectiveness of Denuvo called into question again as hit game cracked in only a few hours after release

News Icon DeUHD: New 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Ripping Tool Surfaces

posted by: Sean F, 12:20 AEDT, Fri October 6, 2017

First commercial Ultra HD Blu-ray ripper made available, capable of ripping more than 30 discs so far

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (October 1, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 20:36 AEDT, Sun October 1, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending October 1, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (September 24, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 18:07 AEST, Sun September 24, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending September 24, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (September 17, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 20:58 AEST, Sun September 17, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending September 17, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (September 3, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 19:50 AEST, Sun September 3, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending September 3, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (August 20, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 20:10 AEST, Sun August 20, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending August 20, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (August 13, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 18:17 AEST, Sun August 13, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending August 13, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (August 6, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 16:23 AEST, Sun August 6, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending August 6, 2017

News Icon HBO Hack: Game of Thrones Spoiler Leaks Online

posted by: Sean F, 17:33 AEST, Thu August 3, 2017

HBO victim of massive hack, TBs of data stolen including Game of Thrones content, some of it already leaked online

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (July 30, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 13:56 AEST, Sun July 30, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending July 30, 2017

News Icon Download Site Forced to Remove Google Ads for File Sharing Software

posted by: Sean F, 16:21 AEST, Sat July 29, 2017

Open source download site banned from hosting Google ads on pages for legal file sharing software

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (July 23, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 15:30 AEST, Sun July 23, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending July 23, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (July 9, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 17:17 AEST, Sun July 9, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending July 9, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (July 2, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 19:57 AEST, Sun July 2, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending July 2, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (June 18, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 16:47 AEST, Sun June 18, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending June 18, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (June 11, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 19:48 AEST, Sun June 11, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending June 11, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (June 4, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 16:20 AEST, Sun June 4, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending June 4, 2017

News Icon Denuvo's Latest Efforts a Performance 'Abomination' Say Cracker

posted by: Sean F, 16:21 AEST, Sat June 3, 2017

Latest version of Denuvo making hundreds of thousands of protection calls, potentially causing performance problems - but still gets cracked in record time

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (May 28, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 17:33 AEST, Sun May 28, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending May 28, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (May 7, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 19:39 AEST, Sun May 7, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending May 7, 2017

News Icon First Ripped Ultra HD Blu-ray Uploaded to Pirate Sites

posted by: Sean F, 10:33 AEST, Sat May 6, 2017

Possible breakthrough in the cracking of AACS 2.0 leads to the first ripped Ultra HD Blu-ray movie

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (April 30, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 16:32 AEST, Sun April 30, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending April 30, 2017

News Icon Kodi Shuts Down DRM Rumors

posted by: Sean F, 15:53 AEST, Fri April 28, 2017

Kodi clarifies DRM stance amid "fake news" controversies

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (April 23, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 17:11 AEST, Sun April 23, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending April 23, 2017

News Icon Denuvo v4, Only Recently Released, Cracked Already

posted by: Sean F, 19:36 AEST, Tue April 18, 2017

Not great news for Denuvo, but game publishers will still be able to protect their games for a while

News Icon Ultra HD Blu-ray, VR Playback Comes to the PC, PowerDVD 17 Released

posted by: Sean F, 15:52 AEST, Mon April 17, 2017

New PowerDVD version has VR and UHD support, but you'll need a seriously beefy PC to take full advantage

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (April 9, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 16:01 AEST, Sun April 9, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending April 9, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (April 2, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 15:46 AEST, Sun April 2, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending April 2, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (March 26, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 20:49 AEDT, Sun March 26, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending March 26, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (March 12, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 14:40 AEDT, Sun March 12, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending March 12, 2017

News Icon Popular Video Player Software Embroiled in Wikileaks, CIA Scandal

posted by: Sean F, 20:06 AEDT, Fri March 10, 2017

VLC player has been used by the CIA to spy on targets

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (March 5, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 15:27 AEDT, Sun March 5, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending March 5, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (February 26, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 16:24 AEDT, Sun February 26, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending February 26, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (February 12, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 13:45 AEDT, Sun February 12, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending February 12, 2017

News Icon Game Protection Company Denuvo Fails to Protect Their Own Website

posted by: Sean F, 15:32 AEDT, Fri February 10, 2017

Denuvo helps protect games but failed to offer even basic protection for their own website

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (February 5, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 16:47 AEDT, Sun February 5, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending February 5, 2017

News Icon Google Makes HTML5 DRM Mandatory

posted by: Sean F, 18:09 AEDT, Fri February 3, 2017

Google makes it impossible to disable controversial DRM

News Icon Blu-ray, Ultra HD Blu-ray sales stats for the week ending January 21st 2017

posted by: Sean F, 17:50 AEDT, Thu February 2, 2017

DVD, Blu-ray and Ultra HD Blu-ray sales stats for the week ending January 21st 2017

News Icon Denuvo Game DRM On Shaky Ground, Defeated By Zombie Horde

posted by: Sean F, 17:17 AEDT, Wed February 1, 2017

Denuvo protected game 'Resident Evil 7' gets cracked in record time - is the end nigh for this much vaunted anti-piracy system?

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (January 29, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 18:36 AEDT, Sun January 29, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending January 29, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (January 22, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 17:06 AEDT, Sun January 22, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending January 22, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (January 15, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 20:42 AEDT, Sun January 15, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending January 15, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (January 8, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 18:14 AEDT, Sun January 8, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending January 8, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (January 1, 2017)

posted by: Sean F, 17:56 AEDT, Sun January 1, 2017

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending January 1, 2017

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (December 18, 2016)

posted by: Sean F, 13:52 AEDT, Sun December 18, 2016

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending December 18, 2016

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (December 11, 2016)

posted by: Sean F, 16:55 AEDT, Sun December 11, 2016

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending December 11, 2016

News Icon Play UHD Blu-ray on Your PC: PowerDVD Gets 4K Blu-ray Certification

posted by: Sean F, 16:18 AEDT, Tue December 6, 2016

Next major version of PowerDVD will likely get Ultra HD Blu-ray playback feature, as software receives official UHD Blu-ray certification

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (November 27, 2016)

posted by: Sean F, 15:57 AEDT, Sun November 27, 2016

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending November 27, 2016

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (November 20, 2016)

posted by: Sean F, 16:09 AEDT, Sun November 20, 2016

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending November 20, 2016

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (November 13, 2016)

posted by: Sean F, 20:12 AEDT, Sun November 13, 2016

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending November 13, 2016

News Icon Anti Software Piracy Group Caught Abusing Copyright License

posted by: Sean F, 15:07 AEDT, Tue November 8, 2016

BSA's website failed to follow licensing terms for its jQuery use

News Icon Weekly News Roundup (November 6, 2016)

posted by: Sean F, 15:20 AEDT, Sun November 6, 2016

Weekly News Roundup for the week ending November 6, 2016

News Icon Copyright Office Grants New 'Hacking' DMCA Exemptions

posted by: Sean F, 17:37 AEDT, Sat November 5, 2016

White hat hackers now allowed to circumvent DRM for the sake of research, under new DMCA exemptions

There are more news items in the News Archive section...